jump to navigation

Explosions in the Sky – All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone March 1, 2007

Posted by Walt in mini-review.
trackback

OK, how about a 43-minute, 6-song instrumental album, where the songs have names like “The Birth And Death Of The Day” and “Catastrophe And The Cure”?

Is it just me or do song names like that on instrumental tracks seem pretentious? I would be just as happy if the songs were named “A”, “B”, “C”,…

The good news is that the album is very strong. The first track opens with distorted guitars that reminded me of Yes for some reason. Soon the song resolves into a more straight-forward melody, with a nice little reverb and a very insistent drum backing.

The whole album works together like a classical suite.

7 out of 10

Comments»

1. writerserenyty - March 3, 2007

Nice review!

I don’t know if I’d give them a 7 (because, I don’t know, something felt off), but I see all your points.


Leave a Reply

