jump to navigation

Instrumental Rock – Does it work? February 28, 2007

Posted by Walt in other stuff.
trackback

Recently, I downloaded albums from eMusic by Mogwai (“Happy Songs for Happy People”) and Explosions in the Sky (“All Of A Sudden I Miss Everyone”). I saw that they were rated highly (85 and 78 respectively on Metacritic.com.), so I thought I’d give them a try. I hadn’t realized that they were instrumental.

I’m not sure if I even like the concept. The lyrics of rock songs are such an important element, that I am not sure if they are dispensable.

I am going to listen to the Explosions in the Sky album a few more times and write a mini-review to see if I can answer the question of whether a rock instrumental album makes sense. Hmmm……

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

