jump to navigation

Why Music Matters – part 2 February 15, 2007

Posted by Walt in essay.
trackback

Friday, August 26, 2005 was the day I had my musical epiphany. I had been listening to some music that my older daughter had brought to my attention, but basically I was still living in the 80’s – Joe Jackson, Roxy Music, Dire Straits, Talking Heads. Still good, but a couple of decades had passed, for goodness sake!

On that Friday night, however, we were going to see the White Stripes at the Orpheum Theater in Minneapolis. I had listened to several of the albums before the concert, and I was looking forward to the evening, but what I experienced was the best musical event of my life. After a nice but not too exciting set by the Greenhornes, the stage was reset in the traditional red, white and black colors of the White Stripes, including white palm fronds.

The concert opened with “Black Math” from the “Elephant” album. Over the next 2 hours Jack White played unbelievable guitar, mandolin, piano and marimbas. Meg White whacked complete hell out of her drum kit. They played a varied mix of songs from their 5 albums, including almost all of the songs from “Get Behind Me Satan”. By the time the concert ended with “The Hardest Button To Button” and “Seven Nation Army”, I was transfixed – transported – transcendent. That 2 people could make such a glorious noise was breathtaking. I don’t know if I let my daughter get a word in on the trip home. (She probably did.)

I was HOOKED!!!

coming in part 3: I want more music…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

